BJP dents SP’s bastion, wins 2 Lok Sabha seats in bypoll

New Delhi: Continuing with its victory march in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, the BJP on Sunday managed to dent the Samjawadi Party’s core vote bank — Muslim+Yadav (MY) — in Azamgarh and while in Rampur it demolished the citadel of the SP’s popular Muslim face, Azam Khan, who was recently released from … Read more

Lok Sabha Bypoll: Simranjit Mann makes AAP bite dust in Punjab CM’s own turf

In politics you can’t write off anyone. Simranjit Singh Mann is a perfect example of it. Twenty-three years (1999) after winning his last major elections from Sangrur, he almost faded into oblivion. His worst came in 2019 Lok Sabha elections where he had to undergo the ignominy of losing his security deposit. But keeping faith … Read more

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla interview: ‘Chief Justice Ramana’ comments (on lack of quality legal laws debates while enacting) are not correct. It contradicts reality. The reality is on records which cannot lie’

The Lok Sabha has witnessed a tumultuous period since 2019 with the ruling party BJP and the Opposition having been in conflict on a range of issues. However, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, who completes three years in office, asserts that the Lower House of Parliament has become more effective and responsive as an institution … Read more

Control slipping, JD(S) takes a body blow with Rajya Sabha poll debacle

On a plain reading, the BJP’s victory in three Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka, especially the third, in a tight race with the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) appears like it was due to a lack of coordination between the allies former in fighting unitedly against the BJP. A closer look at the BJP’s … Read more

Haryana Rajya Sabha polling – The 17-hour long dramatic turn of events

The high-stakes battle for two Rajya Sabha seats from Haryana will witness a long 17-hour dramatic turn of events. Objections were raised on two Congress votes within the first hour of polling that eventually resulted in a delay of counting of votes by more than seven hours. Although the counting began post midnight, yet two … Read more

Three-state boost and a downer: How BJP came out on top in Rajya Sabha polls

For the first time in its history, the BJP crossed the 100 MPs threshold in the Rajya Sabha on March 31. The tally came down to 95 in the Upper House elections held on Fridaybut, in nail-biting contests that went down to the wire, the ruling party won a seat each in Karnataka, Maharashtra, and … Read more

Haryana Rajya Sabha Polls: Counting on hold as Independent nominee, Maken rush to EC over two Cong votes

BJP candidate Krishan Lal Panwar looked all set to enter the Rajya Sabha from Haryana even as uncertainty prevailed over the second seat as the counting of votes was put on hold Friday after the saffron party nominee and the Independent candidate backed by the JJP urged the Election Commission to cancel the votes of … Read more

Elections for 16 seats in Rajya Sabha: BJP wins Karnataka, Congress Rajasthan; disputes delay Maharashtra and Haryana

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Congress leader Jairam Ramesh and party spokesperson Randeep Surjewala were among the eight election candidates to Rajya Sabha Friday from Karnataka and Rajasthan, while counting of votes in Maharashtra and Haryana was delayed with rival parties trading charges. Although the BJP faced an embarrassment in Rajasthan with one of its … Read more

Rajya Sabha Election: Battle for 16 key seats in 4 states today- Top updates

India oi-Madhuri Adnal | Published: Friday, June 10, 2022, 8:38 [IST] New Delhi, Jun 10: Polling for 16 Rajya Sabha seats in four states will be held on Friday amid claims of attempts at horse-trading by rival which have corralled their MLAs parties in hotels and scenic resorts, prompting the Election Commission to appoint special … Read more

Rajya Sabha elections: Kartickeya Sharma garners support amid last-minute ‘offers’, mock tests

The polls for two Rajya Sabha seats from Haryana seemed to set for a cliffhanger amid last minute efforts by the contestants to reach out to the Independent MLAs even as the lone Indian National Lok Dal MLA Abhay Singh Chautala declared his support to Kartikeya Sharma, who has entered the fray as an Independent … Read more